Sans-History

Chattanooga, Tennessee is the largest mid-sized city in the United States without a local history museum.

SOURCE: List below of market MSAs (US Census 2017) populations between 500,000 and 1,000,000 for museums with physical locations open to the public that focus on local history (non-niche, science or industry-specific).

Rank MSA 2017 MSA Population   Org Museum Website
54 Tulsa, OK MSA 990,706   Tulsa Historical Society & Museum https://www.tulsahistory.org/
55 Fresno, CA MSA 989,255   Fresno Historical Society https://www.valleyhistory.org/
56 Urban Honolulu, HI MSA 988,650   Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives https://missionhouses.org/
57 Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CT MSA 949,921   Barnum Museum https://barnum-museum.org/
58 Worcester, MA-CT MSA 942,475   Worcester Historical Museum https://www.worcesterhistory.org/
59 Omaha-Council Bluffs, NE-IA MSA 933,316   Western Historic Trails Center https://iowaculture.gov/history/sites/western-historic-trails-center
60 Albuquerque, NM MSA 913,113   Albuquerque Museum https://www.cabq.gov/museum
61 Greenville-Anderson-Mauldin, SC MSA 895,923   Upcountry History Museum https://www.upcountryhistory.org/
62 Bakersfield, CA MSA 893,119   Kern County Museum https://kerncountymuseum.org/
63 Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY MSA 886,188   New York State Museum https://www.nysm.nysed.gov/
64 Knoxville, TN MSA 877,104   East Tennessee Historical Society and Museum https://www.easttnhistory.org/
65 McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX MSA 860,661   Mission Historical Museum https://missionmuseum.org/
66 New Haven-Milford, CT MSA 860,435   Milford Historical Society https://www.milfordhistoricalsociety.org/
67 Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura, CA MSA 854,223   Museum of Ventura County https://www.venturamuseum.org/
68 El Paso, TX MSA 844,818   El Paso Museum of History https://www.elpasotexas.gov/history
69 Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ MSA 840,550   Lehigh Valley Heritage Museum https://www.lchs.museum/
70 Baton Rouge, LA MSA 834,159   West Baton Rouge Museum https://www.westbatonrougemuseum.com/
71 Columbia, SC MSA 825,033   South Carolina State Museum https://scmuseum.org/
72 North Port-Sarasota-Bradenton, FL MSA 804,690   South Florida Museum https://www.southfloridamuseum.org/
73 Dayton, OH MSA 803,416   Oakwood Historical Society https://www.oakwoodhistory.org/
74 Charleston-North Charleston, SC MSA 775,831   The Charleston Museum https://www.mvmhm.com/
75 Greensboro-High Point, NC MSA 761,184   Greensboro History Museum https://www.greensborohistory.org/
76 Stockton-Lodi, CA MSA 745,424   San Joaquin County Historical Museum https://www.sanjoaquinhistory.org/
77 Cape Coral-Fort Myers, FL MSA 739,224   Cape Coral Historical Society & Museum https://www.capecoralhistoricalmuseum.org/
78 Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR MSA 738,344   Historic Arkansas Museum https://www.historicarkansas.org/
79 Colorado Springs, CO MSA 723,878   Old Colorado City History Center Museum https://www.occhs.org/
80 Boise City, ID MSA 709,845   Idaho State Museum https://history.idaho.gov/museum
81 Akron, OH MSA 703,505   Summit County Historical Society https://www.summithistory.org/
82 Lakeland-Winter Haven, FL MSA 686,483   The Polk County History Center https://www.polk-county.net/history-center
83 Winston-Salem, NC MSA 667,733   New Winston Museum https://newwinston.org
84 Ogden-Clearfield, UT MSA 665,358   North Ogden Historical Museum https://www.nohmuseum.org/
85 Syracuse, NY MSA 654,841   Onondaga Historical Association https://www.cnyhistory.org/about/
86 Madison, WI MSA 654,230   WISCONSIN HISTORICAL MUSEUM https://historicalmuseum.wisconsinhistory.org/
87 Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach, FL MSA 649,202   Halifax Historical Society Museum https://halifaxhistorical.org/
88 Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA MSA 645,911   State Historical Museum of Iowa https://iowaculture.gov/
89 Wichita, KS MSA 645,628   The Wichita-Sedgwick County Historical Museum https://wichitahistory.org/
90 Springfield, MA MSA 631,652   Museum of Springfield History https://springfieldmuseums.org
91 Provo-Orem, UT MSA 617,675   Orem Heritage Museum https://scera.org/oremheritagemuseum/
92 Toledo, OH MSA 603,668   Toledo History Museum https://www.toledohistory.org/
93 Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC MSA 600,151   Augusta Museum Of History https://www.augustamuseum.org/
94 Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL MSA 589,162   Florida Historical Society https://myfloridahistory.org/default
95 Jackson, MS MSA 578,715   MUSEUM OF MISSISSIPPI HISTORY https://mmh.mdah.ms.gov/
96 Harrisburg-Carlisle, PA MSA 571,903   The StateƂ Museum of Pennsylvania https://statemuseumpa.org/
97 Durham-Chapel Hill, NC MSA 567,428   MUSEUM OF DURHAM HISTORY https://www.museumofdurhamhistory.org/
98 Spokane-Spokane Valley, WA MSA 564,236   Spokeane Valley Heritage Museum https://www.spokanevalleymuseum.com
99 Chattanooga, TN-GA MSA 556,548     none
100 Scranton-Wilkes-Barre-Hazleton, PA MSA 555,426   Luzerne County Historical Society https://luzernehistory.org/
101 Modesto, CA MSA 547,899   McHenry Museum https://www.mchenrymuseum.org/
102 Lancaster, PA MSA 542,903   Lancaster History https://www.lancasterhistory.org/
103 Youngstown-Warren-Boardman, OH-PA MSA 541,926   Tyler Mahoning Valley History Center https://mahoninghistory.org/tyler-history-center/
104 Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO MSA 537,463   Washington County History https://www.washcohistoricalsociety.org/
105 Portland-South Portland, ME MSA 532,083   Maine Historical Society and the Wadsworth-Longfellow House https://www.mainehistory.org/
106 Lexington-Fayette, KY MSA 512,650   The Anderson Co. Ky History Museum https://the-anderson-co-ky-history-museum.business.site/
107 Santa Rosa, CA MSA 504,217   Museum of Sonoma County https://museumsc.org/