Sans-History

Chattanooga, Tennessee is the largest mid-sized city in the United States without a local history museum.

SOURCE: List below of market MSAs (US Census 2017) populations between 500,000 and 1,000,000 for museums with physical locations open to the public that focus on local history (non-niche, science or industry-specific).

Rank MSA 2017 MSA Population OrgMuseum Website
54Tulsa, OK MSA990,706 Tulsa Historical Society & Museumhttp://www.tulsahistory.org/
55Fresno, CA MSA989,255 Fresno Historical Societyhttp://www.valleyhistory.org/
56Urban Honolulu, HI MSA988,650 Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archiveshttp://missionhouses.org/
57Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CT MSA949,921 Barnum Museumhttps://barnum-museum.org/
58Worcester, MA-CT MSA942,475 Worcester Historical Museumhttp://www.worcesterhistory.org/
59Omaha-Council Bluffs, NE-IA MSA933,316 Western Historic Trails Centerhttp://iowaculture.gov/history/sites/western-historic-trails-center
60Albuquerque, NM MSA913,113 Albuquerque Museumhttp://www.cabq.gov/museum
61Greenville-Anderson-Mauldin, SC MSA895,923 Upcountry History Museumhttp://www.upcountryhistory.org/
62Bakersfield, CA MSA893,119 Kern County Museumhttps://kerncountymuseum.org/
63Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY MSA886,188 New York State Museumhttp://www.nysm.nysed.gov/
64Knoxville, TN MSA877,104 East Tennessee Historical Society and Museumhttp://www.easttnhistory.org/
65McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX MSA860,661 Mission Historical Museumhttp://missionmuseum.org/
66New Haven-Milford, CT MSA860,435 Milford Historical Societyhttp://www.milfordhistoricalsociety.org/
67Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura, CA MSA854,223 Museum of Ventura Countyhttp://www.venturamuseum.org/
68El Paso, TX MSA844,818 El Paso Museum of Historyhttp://www.elpasotexas.gov/history
69Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ MSA840,550 Lehigh Valley Heritage Museumhttp://www.lchs.museum/
70Baton Rouge, LA MSA834,159 West Baton Rouge Museumhttp://www.westbatonrougemuseum.com/
71Columbia, SC MSA825,033 South Carolina State Museumhttp://scmuseum.org/
72North Port-Sarasota-Bradenton, FL MSA804,690 South Florida Museumhttp://www.southfloridamuseum.org/
73Dayton, OH MSA803,416 Oakwood Historical Societyhttp://www.oakwoodhistory.org/
74Charleston-North Charleston, SC MSA775,831 The Charleston Museumhttp://www.mvmhm.com/
75Greensboro-High Point, NC MSA761,184 Greensboro History Museumhttp://www.greensborohistory.org/
76Stockton-Lodi, CA MSA745,424 San Joaquin County Historical Museumhttp://www.sanjoaquinhistory.org/
77Cape Coral-Fort Myers, FL MSA739,224 Cape Coral Historical Society & Museumhttp://www.capecoralhistoricalmuseum.org/
78Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR MSA738,344 Historic Arkansas Museumhttp://www.historicarkansas.org/
79Colorado Springs, CO MSA723,878 Old Colorado City History Center Museumhttps://www.occhs.org/
80Boise City, ID MSA709,845 Idaho State Museumhttp://history.idaho.gov/museum
81Akron, OH MSA703,505 Summit County Historical Societyhttps://www.summithistory.org/
82Lakeland-Winter Haven, FL MSA686,483 The Polk County History Centerhttps://www.polk-county.net/history-center
83Winston-Salem, NC MSA667,733 New Winston Museumhttp://newwinston.org
84Ogden-Clearfield, UT MSA665,358 North Ogden Historical Museumhttp://www.nohmuseum.org/
85Syracuse, NY MSA654,841 Onondaga Historical Associationhttps://www.cnyhistory.org/about/
86Madison, WI MSA654,230 WISCONSIN HISTORICAL MUSEUMhttps://historicalmuseum.wisconsinhistory.org/
87Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach, FL MSA649,202 Halifax Historical Society Museumhttp://halifaxhistorical.org/
88Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA MSA645,911 State Historical Museum of Iowahttps://iowaculture.gov/
89Wichita, KS MSA645,628 The Wichita-Sedgwick County Historical Museumhttp://wichitahistory.org/
90Springfield, MA MSA631,652 Museum of Springfield Historyhttps://springfieldmuseums.org
91Provo-Orem, UT MSA617,675 Orem Heritage Museumhttps://scera.org/oremheritagemuseum/
92Toledo, OH MSA603,668 Toledo History Museumhttps://www.toledohistory.org/
93Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC MSA600,151 Augusta Museum Of Historyhttp://www.augustamuseum.org/
94Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL MSA589,162 Florida Historical Societyhttps://myfloridahistory.org/default
95Jackson, MS MSA578,715 MUSEUM OF MISSISSIPPI HISTORYhttp://mmh.mdah.ms.gov/
96Harrisburg-Carlisle, PA MSA571,903 The State┬áMuseum of Pennsylvaniahttp://statemuseumpa.org/
97Durham-Chapel Hill, NC MSA567,428 MUSEUM OF DURHAM HISTORYhttps://www.museumofdurhamhistory.org/
98Spokane-Spokane Valley, WA MSA564,236 Spokeane Valley Heritage Museumhttp://www.spokanevalleymuseum.com
99Chattanooga, TN-GA MSA556,548  none
100Scranton-Wilkes-Barre-Hazleton, PA MSA555,426 Luzerne County Historical Societyhttp://luzernehistory.org/
101Modesto, CA MSA547,899 McHenry Museumhttps://www.mchenrymuseum.org/
102Lancaster, PA MSA542,903 Lancaster Historyhttps://www.lancasterhistory.org/
103Youngstown-Warren-Boardman, OH-PA MSA541,926 Tyler Mahoning Valley History Centerhttps://mahoninghistory.org/tyler-history-center/
104Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO MSA537,463 Washington County Historyhttp://www.washcohistoricalsociety.org/
105Portland-South Portland, ME MSA532,083 Maine Historical Society and the Wadsworth-Longfellow Househttp://www.mainehistory.org/
106Lexington-Fayette, KY MSA512,650 The Anderson Co. Ky History Museumhttps://the-anderson-co-ky-history-museum.business.site/
107Santa Rosa, CA MSA504,217 Museum of Sonoma Countyhttps://museumsc.org/